If you’re a true American, nothing is as exciting as walking around your nation’s Capitol and seeing all the people that allow us to live our free lives: some being the senators representing every state in the USA. I was fortunate enough to meet with my senator’s legislative correspondant to learn a little bit more about her perspective on politics, how she got the job, and some of her lucky opportunities. Before I had even stepped into her office, however, I had to find my way through the curvy corridors and cool architecture of the Russell Senate office building. Luckily I had the guidance of the nice security officer or else I would have totally missed my meeting! In fact, I wish I could have stayed a little longer and had the guts to look at more of the building, although I probably would have been asked what I was doing and shown the door. Ms. Kennedy, John McCain’s legislative correspondant, said they usually keep a confidentiality agreement with any meetings, so I can’t say too much, but not unlike many of the speakers at WJMC, her story of coming to the Hill began with internships and good timing. The key to so many of these successful people’s stories lies in the timing of their persistence to an issue and they like to emphasize how lucky they became with those opportunities. Unfortunately, my timing was not too good that day.

The park next to the senate building may have been just as beautiful as the building itself, so I decided to sit on a bench and admire the beauty while I was waiting to hear from a few friends on where to meet them when I was finished with my meeting. They had gone to the American History Museum which was on the complete opposite side of the National Mall as my meeting, so I just decided to start walking towards that end of the mall. They texted me that they were almost done and we’re going to let me know where to meet for lunch so I kept walking closer to the museum. It took me about 40 minutes to get closer to that end, but then I realized I really needed to use the restroom. It took me about another 15 minutes to find a place that I could just slip in and use the restroom, which happened to be a Starbucks, but then I had to buy something to get the code for the bathroom. Starbucks is always crowded so I had to wait even longer to get my drink and use the bathroom, ugh! I finally got an address on where to meet up for lunch, but didn’t realize I was walking in the wrong direction for 10 minutes. I guess I’m really bad with directions or my phone’s GPS wasn’t working properly because it took me a total of 1 1/2 hours to find them. Now the National Mall is huge and it isn’t that hard to get lost and end up walking around forever! Oh and I didn’t mention that it was 95 degrees with 80% humidity and we had to wear business clothes so I wore terrible shoes for walking and by the time I met up with the girls none of us wanted to do anything. Sadly we decided to just go to the Air and Space museum to sit and wait for our group to leave because that was the set meeting place. I spent over 3 hours of constant walking and I didn’t get to visit a single museum I was interested in or get any souvenirs. And street cart hot dogs are gross!

Fortunately day five became so much better when we all went to the gala and danced our shoes off, literally. The girls kicked our shoes under the table and danced until the music stopped. Our group was the first on the dance floor and the last to leave. We really showed how close we had become when we spent all night with each other even though they were 200 other kids there. I will miss these people so much and look forward to our five year reunion! Thank you WJMC for the amazing experience. #21shadesofgray

 

